Preperation

Bittersweet Goodbye

The Tessitura Network

The Tessitura Network

I was lucky enough to visit Austin, TX last week to see my work family.  We only meet as a group twice a year, and last year I missed one of those opportunities due to my back injury…so it’s been almost a year since I have seen some of these fine folks.  This was the first group of people I have had to say ‘goodbye’ to…and it was hard.  I had a big blubber a couple of times, but hopefully managed to scurry away before I made too much of a fuss.

Roo, Rebecca, JFry, Johnny Scotland, The Laminator, Little Bitch, SnowCat, Me, Michael, and Mutt.

Roo, Rebecca, JFry, Johnny Scotland, The Laminator, Little Bitch, SnowCat, Me, Michael, and Mutt.

When you work for a virtual company, it’s a little harder to keep up with folks when you leave.  You don’t drop back into the office for lunch, or run into Karyn at the grocery store.  It made the last goodbye all the more heart breaking…it was so final.  As I have said before, leaving this company was the one thing that gave me pause as I considered a year long trip around the world, because there’s not a better team out there to work with out there.  The lovely thing is that from the bottom rung to the top, everyone has been very supportive and enthusiastic about our adventure.

I have two more weeks on the road with some of my colleagues…and then after that…it’s just me and John. It’s been sixteen years since my first job, but the last 2.5 years have been the best years.  Thank you, Tessitura Network!

Categories: Preperation

Leave a Reply

